Drivers in California are getting a bit of a break on their taxes, but it doesn’t have to be the $4,000-per-year trip to Los Angeles to get them through the day.
There are options available in some states, and it’s all about getting around.
Here’s a list of how to get from point A to point B without driving a car in 2019.
If you have a question, contact us at AskTheDrivers.com.1.
California drivers can legally travel with a friend2.
You can park at a service station for a fee3.
You don’t have a right to stop in front of a service truck4.
There’s a permit for cars5.
There is a fee to drive with a companion6.
You’re responsible for paying for any and all maintenance and insurance on your vehicle7.
You must keep your vehicle insured.8.
You pay a $10 per-day surcharge on your car insurance.9.
There may be a fee for a permit to drive through a gas station.10.
You need a permit from the state of California to drive in other states11.
You’ll have to pay the $1.20 surcharge if you plan to travel with two or more passengers.12.
If your state has a parking permit, you can legally park at that station for an annual fee.13.
You will pay a toll on your electric vehicle charging stations, but that’s a non-taxable service.14.
You may have to stop at a gas pump to refill your vehicle’s gas tank.15.
You have to buy a permit in your home state and pay an additional $25 in taxes.16.
You might have to purchase a permit at a toll booth if you’re in a vehicle with a valid registration.17.
There will be an annual $1 fee for the use of a cell phone in California.18.
You won’t be allowed to leave the car park and park next to a bus.19.
You cannot park in a handicap space.20.
You aren’t allowed to drive on a public street unless the street is designated as a “pedestrian zone.”21.
You are allowed to ride a bike in the state, but you can’t drive on private property.22.
You should be prepared to pay a tax in any of these states.23.
There might be a tax for using a vehicle on public roads.24.
There isn’t a tax if you drive to a state other than California to pick up food or supplies.25.
You probably won’t need a license to drive your vehicle through a grocery store.26.
You still have to get your vehicle inspected by a licensed mechanic.27.
You only need a parking pass to use public transit in California, and you can drive on public transit if you have valid tags.28.
You definitely won’t have the same rights as California drivers in certain areas, such as on bridges.29.
You wouldn’t be able to get a permit if you live in California for less than two years.30.
You’d need a special permit from your county to drive to certain locations in the West.31.
There aren’t any limits to the number of people you can bring into your home, and if you bring more than 10 people, you must pay the fee.32.
There really aren’t many limits to how many people you could bring into a state.33.
There would be a maximum number of permits you could get in each state, and the maximum number you could purchase in any one state.34.
There probably wouldn’t even be a limit on the number you can have on the same property as your vehicle.35.
You couldn’t drive a car without a permit.36.
If someone wants to tow your car to the nearest parking garage, they can’t.37.
You would need to pay an extra $15 to have your vehicle towed to a service center.38.
You could be fined up to $5,000 for parking illegally on the sidewalk in some areas.39.
If a state’s permit to use a vehicle is revoked, you could have to register your vehicle in another state.40.
You shouldn’t be required to pay more than the normal fee to use transit in the area you are driving through.41.
The fees are set by the state.42.
There doesn’t appear to be a single rule to which all drivers must comply.43.
You generally won’t get to use all of the facilities in the city, such a parking garage.44.
There could be additional fees to use the bus or train.45.
You haven’t been given the right to park your vehicle on private land in your own neighborhood.46.
You had to get permission from the city of your destination.47.
You didn’t have permission from your city to park in an area.48.
You were fined $5 for driving in an unsafe